What inspires you?

Published 24/07/2012 by Lily Crussell

I was having a conversation with a friend (painter) about what inspires her art. I was curious as to whether joy or sorrow gave her more inspiration to paint or more ideas. She said that both did, but in different ways. Sorrow tended to be inspiring, but only after the event. I.e sometimes the emotions were so overwhelming that she would have to wait until that subsided before she could access that emotion to paint with. She said joy was equally evasive in the sense that if she’s happy, she wants be enjoying it, rather than trying to get it down on canvas.

Personally, I find sorrow and pain to be more inspiring for poetry. When I am down I can churn out Haiku by the hundred (not that they’re much good lol) and I find I can write sad scenes a lot more realistically than happy ones. I suppose it may be because happiness tends to be more fleeting. Sorrow and pain tend to linger longer so we become better aquainted with them. Having depression doesn’t help either.

Joy I find difficult to access when I’m down, bu the opposite isn’t true. If I’m happy, I can write sad things eaily (though it does tend to end my happy mood!)

So what inspires you? What mood gives you the most inspiration?

Love and Hugs

Lily x

P.S My newest book is with the Betas, so hopefully I’ll be able to get to work on fixing it as soon as they’re done. Then it’s out to the agents and publishers again! Oh the horror! Oh the cost of stamps lol x

Here is a gif of Norman Reedus and Sean Patrick Flannery to make you smile as it always makes me grin!

Let me know what you think...

