Word Counts and why I hate them.

Published 20/07/2012 by Lily Crussell

The ‘new’ first draft is out with the betas, so we shall see what they think. The biggest problem I found for this one was how much I struggled to end it. I also hate how confined the genre is with word count. No publishers want a YA novel that is over 80,000 words. Of Darkness and light is 99,000 and I had to cut a tonne out of that! The one I’ve just sent out is 78,000 but that is because I cut a lot. More will probably be added after this draft. I understand that bigger books cost more to produce, but go pick up a  book from any other genre, and they’re often twice the size or more. The ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series for example (which I am currently reading) are HUGE. Each book is MASSIVE! I struggle to ‘kill my darlings’ when editing as if I put it in in the first place, I think there’s a reason for it. Some scenes don’t add to the story, but they show more about the character. Editing is my own personal hell, not only because I’m hacking out things that I like, but also because it’s impossible to see the book as a reader would. I know the background of my chars, so it’s impossible to notice gaps as my mind will instantly fill them in!

Any wannabe authors out there, find yourself a good critique partner as soon as possible! It’s not something I’ve been able to get for myself and I think it would be helpful, especially if that person is already published! That kind of advice is invaluable!

Thank you all again for the all the Birthday Wishes! They were much appreciated!

Lily x

I used this for a caption comp recently, but had to share it again. If you haven’t seen the Boondock Saints 1 and 2, go find them now! There will be a third, and the brothers quite clearly object to sparkly vampires! Bearing in mind my ex looks a lot like Robert Pattinson, I especially love this picture lol x

2 comments on “Word Counts and why I hate them.

  • Let me know what you think...

