New Book (or not)

Published 06/07/2012 by Lily Crussell

Somewhere in the madness of giveaways, competitions and making swag, I actually almost forgot the reason for it. I want to be a published author. I want people to read my work. Duh.

I had a very good writing day on Wednesday and wrote about 10 thousand words, which isn’t bad. The problem is, it wasn’t on a book that’s anywhere near finished. I am driving myself a little crazy because I can’t focus on one thing for more than five minutes. I know this is a symptom of depression, and due to the fact that they’re messing with my meds again (You don’t have to be crazy to be here, but it helps) I can’t sit still.

So to all those I have waiting to be Beta readers, it might be a little while longer than I anticipated. Grrrr!

BUT, check out my awesome tees I made yesterday! I’m wearing one now!

unfortunately the quality of the transfers wasn’t perfect as I burned them in a couple of places, but it’s all good and not that noticeable. I also broke the iron, so will be going out to buy my parents a new one. That’ll be a blow to the wallet I don’t need, but c’est la vie.

ALSO! I have joined squidoo. I don’t quite get it yet, but I have put a lens (page) up about my charm bracelets and will be adding more once I get used to it. It seems like a fun premise and kept me out of trouble for half an hour so it’s all good!

Love and hugs

Lily

P.S Had to give up on FAQ Friday due to a lack of questions. If you have any, message me or leave them in the comments and I’ll answer them on here as and when!

PPS; I had 460 downloads on Sunday alone last week when the book was free, so I’m thrilled about that. I’ve had 6 people borrow it, and 11 downloads between monday-today. The book is only 99p/$1.50 so take a chance on an indie author who has NO support from an agent or publishing house. I’m having to do all this from scratch having had no idea what I’m doing. It’s a steep learning curve, and along with having to hold down a full time job I loathe, it’s difficult to know where to start sometimes. In total, I’ve made about £40 from over 3600 downloads. That’s nothing. I’ve spent about £1500 on promotion, editing etc. This is what I want more than anything, but us indie’s need your help!

 

4 comments on “New Book (or not)

  • I know the feeling! I spent $2000 for Few Are Angels. This was with editing, giveaways, website design,cover art and design, ect… It’s very time consuming and expensive, but I love it. I have been working on book two in my series all while marketing and promoting book 1 :] I am scheduled with my editor for September and I think I am going to be late! \(o_0)/

    • Oooh do you have a link? Are you on FB? It is criminally expensive. I had a copy editor who missed basic mistakes. I was not happy as I really don’t earn a lot of money, and thhe £300 she charged took me AGES to save up! Grrrr x

  • I don’t have a wordpress acct. so I have to leave comments and not reply. My editor is AWESOME, but expensive! Here is my website: http://www.ingeriversen.com and I love it. S.L. Naeole created it for me! I have links up there for Indies so that they can find cheap, but reliable help. Also, my book cover artist is great and reasonably priced. It’s hard because unless you make millions ppl ofter assume that writing is just a part time hobby for you when it’s actually a full-time job. :[ Here is my FB: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Inger-Iversen/187900437937819

  • Let me know what you think...

