FAQ Friday

Published 13/04/2012 by Lily Crussell

I’ve gathered the questions and will be answering them below, if you have anymore, leave them in the comments section and I’ll go through them later in the day.

-What made you want to write?

I didn’t. I was never given a choice in the matter! I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember, I think mostly as a teen. I rewrote situations that had happened so they turned out how I wanted them to. I wrote two novel length ‘books’ about a guy I was completely smitten with as a teenager, and how he was completely in love with the main character (a variation of me) sad, but that’s teen angst for you. I still have it and read over it the other day. Wow is all I can say. You can tell when I was having a bad day as the characters would too. lol.

Do you plan your books chapter by chapter?

No. I once planned out a book and I hated every second of writing it, and that was evident from reading it. It took away any excitement and creativity I felt for it. I’d read so many articles about authors planning and thought it was obviously what people were supposed to do. To put it nicely, it sucked! Write how you WANT to write, or the work will suffer. I tend to write whatever scenes come into my head and then stitch it together at the end like a patchwrk quilt.

How many hours a day do you spend writing?

Um…..not many at the moment unfortunately. Due to trying to promote ‘Of Darkness and Light’ I’ve spent about 90% of my time making bookmarks, doing giveaways, advertising…. I do still write, but not great volumes of text like I want to. Hopefully it’ll settle down again soon and I’ll get back into it.

Who is your favourite character to write?

I have lots depending on what mood I’m in. Sometimes the characters will just ‘talk to you’ and it will be very easy. I find Barachiel and Lucifer come very naturally and easily. Lucifer especially, though sometimes I have to reign him in a bit. 🙂

Who are your favourite authors?

I don’t really have favourite authors as I tend to read so many that I don’t dedicate myself to one author and read everything they write. Some of my favourite books are; The Walking Dead graphic novels, The Hunger Games, Empress Orchid, How to be a woman, Battle Royale, Geisha of Gion and I’m currently reading the first book of Game of Thrones.

 

Let me know what you think...

