A writer who actually writes?

Published 01/01/2012 by Lily Crussell

No, that’s not me. I haven’t written anything in about a week. It’s all been promotion of my e-book; http://www.amazon.co.uk/Darkness-Light-Shadow-Nephilim-ebook/dp/B006MVFUII/ref=pd_sim_kinc_2

Also editing other books and looking after a sick boyfriend. He never gets sick, ever, so it was slightly worrying. He is the worst patient in the world as he won’t let you do anything for him. I was all ready to go shopping for food he wanted, cooking things, running around after him and generally trying to keep him entertained. I managed none of those things. He really is a bit useless at being ill. I figure if you’re not ill very often, you should milk it for all it’s worth! He had an unbelievably high temp, to the point where sitting next to him was like being next to the radiator, but the fever broke last night which is good, and he is closer to a normal temp today.

Can I please just have one day where I manage to write! It can be just one sentence! It can even be one sentence which I end up deleting!!! Moaning on a blog does not count unfortunately.

As for useful topics for noobs, I’d recommend looking into promotion before the book is even finished. There’s a saying in Hollywood that it takes ten years to make an overnight sensation. I don’t know how true that is, but it’s helpful to have the ground work in place, even if you don’t have much to show for it. Build a platform, give talks in schools, review for the local rag…anything that gets you known and is something you can put as evidence of your talent. Enter every competition you can and make a note of everything you win to add to your queries to agents when you start submitting. It is NEVER too early to start with this. Trust me, I’m suffering now because I was silly enough to assume that you write the book, then everyone will instantly want to read it. They don’t. There are no end of authors out there wanting to be published (regardless of whether they’re actually better than you or not) and having a name that people recognise is a HUGE point in your favour.

Oh yeah, it’s new year isn’t it? I was in bed about 10 last night lol. I’ve never done the staying up late thing (my parents forced me to for the millennium and wasn’t that an exciting night (NO!))

Anyhoo, much love x

Let me know what you think...

